What are Child Safe Standards?

The City of Whittlesea has an obligation to keep children safe from harm and abuse. Victorian organisations that provide services or facilities for children are required by law to implement Child Safe Standards in order to protect children from harm. New changes to the Standards came into effect on 1 July 2022 that will increase protection for children and young people. There are 11 Child Safe Standards that Council must comply with, that aim to:

  • promote the safety of children
  • prevent child abuse
  • ensure organisations and businesses have effective processes in place to respond to and report all allegations of child abuse.

Child Safe Standard 1

Child Safe Standard 1 is a new standard that requires "Organisations to establish a culturally safe environment in which the diverse and unique identities and experiences of Aboriginal children and young people are respected and valued".

We want to hear from Aboriginal Children and Young People (0-25 years of age) and families about your experiences, in particular your dealings with Council. We're also interested to learn of your experiences more broadly, particularly within our municipality. You can share your experiences with us through the survey below.

Your feedback:

  • will be de-identified. The aim of the survey is to identify issues impacting Aboriginal children and young people, ensure that we provide opportunities for Aboriginal children and young people to live, play prosper and belong with equity of opportunity as all residents.
  • will assist Council to develop robust strategies to prevent racism, participate in Council services and programs, and ensure that Aboriginal children and young people are supported to express their identity and enjoy their cultural rights.

Any incidents of racism will not to be tolerated.

Aboriginal Children and Young People Child Safety

Let us know your feedback in this short community survey.